United Nations Security Council

This committee is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations whose primary objective is to ensure international peace and security, recommend admissions of new UN members to the General Assembly, and to approve any changes to the UN Charter. It has a total of 15 members, out of which 5 are permanent members, and the rest 10 are non-permanent members which are appointed from the General Assembly for a tenure of 2 years. The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of a settlement.

Delegate Resources

Agenda : Crisis in Kosovo, 1999
Click to view the Country Matrix
The Background Guide has been released! View here

EB Information

Ahan Gadkari


Nalin Mishra

Vice Chair

Dicky Aditya

Substantive Director